That is all for tonight's blog

There are two sides to every coin. 

  • The British and Irish Lions pulled off a terrific comeback win. 
  • The Lions have been gifted a tainted win
  • The Wallabies had the match but could not close it out.
  • The Wallabies have been cruelled by a poor refereeing mistake.

Which one is it? Is it either? Can two things be true?

I'll tell you what is not in doubt — the history books will record tonight as a 29-26 win to the British and Irish Lions. 

This match will be dissected and debated for years to come. 

But for now, let's not forget that a terrific match of rugby was played in front of 90,000 fans.

That is all for ABC Sport's live blog. 

We will have live coverage of the third and final Test match, next Saturday in Sydney.

We hope you join us then.

Goodnight.

What is the controversial moment and what is the law?

OK. 

So this Test match will be remembered for the final play, when Hugo Keenan scored a try in the last minute to win the match for the British and Irish Lions. 

The Wallabies believe the try should have been overturned because, in the ruck prior to the score, they believe there was foul play. 

Here is what happened:

Lion James Ryan ran with the ball and was tackled by a Wallaby. 

Australian player Carlo Tizzano is the first player there and tries to get his hands on the ball. Tizzano is low to the ground, and his head is very low to the ground. 

Lions player Jac Morgan sprints in to clear Tizzano away from the ball. 

Morgan lowers his body, which is correct, hits Tizzano with his shoulder while wrapping his arms, which is correct, and clears the Australian away from the ball. 

What is the issue?

The issue is: Where did Mogan's shoulder make contact on Tizzano? 

The replays appeared to show Morgan's shoulder make contact with the back of Tizzano's neck. But, initial contact could be on the shoulder blades, and then his shoulder touches the neck.

What is the rule?

Law 9.20 (b) states this:

  • A player must not make contact with an opponent above the line of the shoulders.

Law 9.20 (d) states this:

  • A player may remove the stealer/jackler from the tackle area by pushing/driving them backwards (including by grabbing the knee/leg), but must not roll, pull or twist an opponent.

Did Jac Morgan fall foul of either rule?

Jac Morgan certainly drove backwards. 

What is 50-50 is if Morgan his Tizzano on the back of the neck, or the top of the shoulder blade.

What did the ref say?

Here is what the Italian referee Andrea Piardi said.

"Both of the players arrived at the same time.

"The player (Jac Morgan) is wrapping [his arms]. We don't see any foul play."

Even the readers are split on whether the Wallabies should have been awarded a penalty
Owen Farrell has his say on the non-penalty

Owen Farrell has been asked about the final try standing for the Lions. 

The Englishman believes the refs were right, and personally, I think he gave a very reasonable answer as to why:

"I'll speak honestly, when I saw it (the replay) I thought there's no way that is being given (a penalty)," he tells Stan Sport.

"Obviously, there'll always be two sides to the story. We can all pick apart the letters of the law. 

"But when someone puts their head that low, and it happens that fast; there's always collisions like that."

Owen Farrell speaks after the Lions' win

Owen Farrell came on in the second half and was really good tonight.

This is his fourth Lions tour and he has made an impact.

He is speaking to broadcaster Stan Sport, and is trying to describe his emotion.

"It's probably hasn't sunk in yet. It's elation at the minute,' he says.

"To win a Test series, at a place like this, in the last second like that, is what dreams of made of."

Wallabies coach Joe Schmidt has his say on THAT controversial moment

Fair to say the Wallabies coach beleives his side should have won tonight.

"I think it was described as 'arriving at the same time', and we can all see that's not the case. And we can all see clear contact with the back of the neck."

Former captains split on the whether the Lions final try should have been allowed

The experts are split pretty firmly down national lines on whether that should have been a penalty. 

Former England captain Martin Johnson thought the refs made the correct decision, not penalising Lions forward Jac Morgan: 

"I didn't think there was enough there for a penalty to change the game."

Australia's most capped captain Michael Hooper believes the Wallabies should have been given the penalty.

"I can see what the referee is saying, but there's a penalty there. I would say if that was minute one, that would be a penalty."

Wallabies captain Harry Wilson declines to comment on not being awarded late penalty

The big talking point out of this match will be whether the referees were correct in NOT awarding Australia a penalty, moments before the Lions scored the match-winning try.

Lion Jac Morgan cleaned out Carlo Tizzano.

The refs said Morgan was wrapping his arms, and both players were simultaneously going down at the ruck. 

I can see that point of view, and that certainly did happen. 

But the Wallabies, rightly, argued that Morgan had no intention of staying on his feet and only completed the cleanout by hitting down on the back of Tizzano's neck.

Harry Wilson was asked about it, but he declined to comment.

"I'm probably not in the right emotions to speak about that,"

Harry Wilson speaks after the loss

Harry Wilson has joined broadcaster Stan Sport following the Wallabies' narrow three-point loss to the British and Irish Lions. 

"So proud of this team," he says.

"We were written off. We came out here, we put our bodies on the line, and the game was there to the very end. 

"To lose like that, it hurts."

Maro Itoje speaks after the win

British and Irish Lions captain Maro Itoje is speaking the Stan Sport.

"I don't know what to say, to be honest," he says.

"This is a very special arena. It is an honour and a privilege for us to play here.

"We played big, we got the win, and that's all that matters."

Itoje was asked about how much he wanted to win as captain. But the English lock, as ever, has focused on the team.

"We showed grit and determination," he says.

"I'm just so proud of the whole squad. 

"The bench came on and won the game for us.